List of countries in England

Map showing countries of england


Where is Bedfordshire? Bedfordshire borders Cambridgeshire to the north-east.


Berkshire borders Greater London to the East, Buckinghamshire & Oxfordshire to the North, Wiltshire to the West, and Hampshire & Surrey to the South.

City of Bristol

Bristol is sandwiched between Gloucestershire to the north and Somerset to the south.


Buckinghamshire borders 6 counties including Greater London to the south-east, Hertfordshire to the east, and Oxfordshire to the west.


Cambridgeshire lies directly west of Norfolk and Suffolk and has a northern border with Lincolnshire. 


 Cheshire borders Wales to the east and Liverpool & Manchester to the North. 

City of London

The Square Mile or City of London is in the middle of Greater London on the north side of the Thames between the boroughs of Westminster and Tower hamlets. 


  Cornwall is in the far south western corner of the UK and has the longest stretch of continuous coastline in Britain.


 Cumbria is in the furthest north western corner of England, with the Scottish Border to the north and the Irish Sea to the west. 


Derbyshire borders Yorshire to the north, Nottinghamshire to the east, and Staffordshire to the south-west. 


 Situated between Cornwall to the west and Somerset to the east, 


 Dorset’s northern borders are with Somerset, Wilshire & Hampshire.


County Durham is a north eastern county of England, bordered by North Yorkshire to the south and Northumberland to the north.

East Riding of Yorkshire

East Riding of Yorkshire is borderd by North & South Yorkshire and also the River Humber along its southern edge. 

East Sussex

 The county of East Sussex is bordered by its western namesake to the west and Kent to the north & east.


Essex is an eastern county of England located to the northwest of London. 


 Gloucestershire is a western county of England bordering Herefordhsire & wales to the west and Somerset & Wiltshire to the south. 

Greater London

 Greater London is in south east England and is surrounded by the Home Counties of Buckinghamshire, Hertfordshire, Essex, Berkshire, Surrey, & Kent.

Greater Manchester

Greater Manchester borders Lancashire & West Yorkshire to the north, and Cheshire & Derbyshire to the south.


Hampshire borders Sussex & Dorset to its East & West, and Wiltshire, Berkshire & Surrey along its northern edges.


Herefordshire is sandwiched between Herefordhsire to the east and the Welsh border to the west.


 Hertfordshire is one of the home counties and is bordered by Bedfordshire to the north, Essex to the east, Buckinghamshire to the west, and Greater London to the south.

Isle of Wight

The Isle of Wight is located in the English Channel about 4 miles south of the Hampshire coastline


Kent is located in the far south east corner of England and borders Essex & London to the north, and Surrey & East Sussex to the west & south. To the southeast it also has a border with France which is halfway along the Channel Tunnel.


Lancashire borders Greater Manchester to the south, Cumbria to the north and North yorkshire to the east.


 Leicestershire is in the very heart of England and borders no fewer than 7 counties inlcuding Nottinghamshire to the north and Northants to the south.


Lincolnshire is on the East coast of England with the Humber and the Wash forming part of its northern and southern boundaries respectively.


Merseyside is on the West coast of England surrounded by the counties of of Lancashire, Greater Manchester & Cheshire.


Norfolk borders Suffolk to the south and Lincolnshire & Cambridgeshire to the west.

North Yorkshire

 North Yorkshire is a large county in the north of England stretching almost from coast to coast.


Northamptonshire is in the East Midlands region and is bordered by eight other counties including Warwickshire, Leicestershire, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire & Lincolnshire.


 Northumberland is the northernmost county, bordering Cumbria to the west & County Durham to the south.


Nottinghamshire is the northernmost county, bordering Cumbria to the west & County Durham to the south.


 Oxfordshire is in the South/Central region of England and borders Warwickshire & Northamptonshire to the north, Buckinghamshire to the east, Berkshire to the south, and Gloucestershire & Wiltshire to the west.


Rutland is a small landlocked county of central England bordered by Leicestershire & Lincolnshire to the north and Northamptonshire & Cambridge to the south.


 Shropshire is a county in the West Midlands region of England bordering Wales to the west.


Somerset is a county in South West England bordering Bristol & Gloucestershire to the north, Wiltshire to the east, Dorset to the south, and Devon to the west.

South Yorkshire

South Yorkshire is a county in central northern England, bordered by the rest of Yorkshire to the north and Derby, Nottinghamshire & Lincolnshire to the south.


Staffordshire is a county in central northern England, bordered by the rest of Yorkshire to the north and Derby, Nottinghamshire & Lincolnshire to the south.


Suffolk is a county in East Anglia and borders Norfolk to the north, The North Sea to the east, Cambridgeshire to the west and Essex to the south.


Surrey is one of the Home Counties and borders Greater London & Berkshire to the north, Kent to the east, East & West Sussex to the south, and Hampshire to the west.

Tyne and Wear

Tyne and Wear Tyne is a county which borders Northumberland to the north, the North Sea to the east, and Durham to the south.


Warwickshire is a county in the West Midlands region of England bordered by Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Gloucestershire, Worcestershire & Staffordshire.

West Midlands

West Midlands borders Shropshire & Staffordshire to the north and Worcestershire & warwickshire to the south.

West Sussex

West Sussex is a coastal county of southern England, bordering Surrey to the north, East Sussex to the south, & Hampshire to the west.

West Yorkshire

West Yorkshire borders Lancashire & greater Manchester to the west & south.


 Wiltshire is in the west of England and borders the counties of Dorset, Somerset, Hampshire, Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire and Berkshire.


Worcestershire borders Warwickshire to the east and Gloucestershire to the south.

Leave a Reply