How African Teams will Qualify for the Worldcup

A total of 5 five African teams will qualify for the 2022 world cup.

Qualification format

First round:

 28 teams ranked between  27th and 50th played home-and-away over two legs. 14 winners advanced to the second round.

Second round: 

40 teams comprising 14 teams from the first round plus the first 26 ranked African teams. The teams are divided into 10 groups of 4 teams each. The team that tops each of the groups after all matches have been played will advance into the 3rd round.

Third round: 

The ten second round group winners will play home-and-away over two legs. The five winners qualify for the World Cup.

Leave a Reply